2016 Autumn Contest Results

Home / Contest Results / Autumn Contest / 2016 Autumn Contest Results
2016 Autumn Contest Results

scaba’s annual Autumn Contest was held today, Sunday 25th September 2016, at the Hawth in Crawley.

Adjudicators: Dennis Wilby & Mike Kilroy


Championship Section

– adjudicator Dennis Wilby

  1. Wantage Silver, Craig Patterson (Journey of the Lone Wolf)
  2. Bournemouth Concert Brass, Matthew Brown (The Year of the Dragon)
  3. Staines Brass, Dan Floyd (Paganini Variations)
  4. Fulham, John Ward (Trittico)
  5. Regent Brass, Andy Kershaw (English Heritage)
  • Best Hymn Tune:  Bournemouth
  • Best Instrumentalist:  Helen Wright, Flugel, Wantage
  • Best Percussion:  Wantage
  • Best Bass Section:  Bournemouth
  • Best Euphonium:  Sam Wyne, Wantage
  • Conductor’s Prize:  Craig Patterson, Wantage
First Section

First Section

– adjudicator Dennis Wilby

  1. Otterbourne, Melvin White (The Saga of Haakon the Good)
  2. Horsham Borough, Mark McLaughlin (Purcell Variations)
  3. Epsom & Ewell, Paul Graham (Purcell Variations)
  4. BAE Systems Brass, Melvin White (Renaissance)
  5. Egham, Gareth Greene (Daystar)
  6. Tilbury, Ben Jones (Fire in the Blood)
  • Best Hymn Tune: Horsham
  • Best Instrumentalist: Ian Lanceley, Cornet, BAE
  • Best Euphonium: Graham Jones, Otterbourne
  • Conductor’s Prize: Melvin White, Otterbourne
Second Section

Second Section

– adjudicator Mike Kilroy

  1. LGB Brass, Ian Stewart (Images for Brass)
  2. Regent Community Brass, Chris Bearman (Hollywood)
  3. Godalming, James Haigh (Americana)
  4. Shanklin Town, Malcolm Lewis (Occasion)
  • Best Hymn Tune: LGB
  • Best Instrumentalist: William Rowling, Tom-toms, Godalming
  • Best Horns, Best Basses: LGB
  • Best Percussion Section: Godalming
  • Best Solo Horn: Angela Holloway, LGB
  • Conductor’s Prize: Ian Stewart, LGB
Third Section

Third Section

– adjudicator Mike Kilroy

  1. Simon Langton Brass, David Cutting (Dark Side of the Moon)
  2. Brighton & Hove City Brass, Matthew Hackett (Dimensions)
  3. Snowdown Colliery, Keith Twyman (A Malvern Suite)
  4. Cobham, Glenn Hayter (Music for the Royal Fireworks)

W:  Bletchington Silver,  Gosport Solent Brass

  • Best Hymn Tune: Simon Langton Brass
  • Best Instrumentalist: Keith Pritchard, Cornet, Snowdown Colliery
  • Best Back Row Cornets: Snowdown Colliery
  • Best Bass Section: Simon Langton
  • Best Percussion : Simon Langton
  • Conductor’s Prize: David Cutting, Simon Langton
Youth Section

Youth Section

– adjudicator Mike Kilroy

  1. Shanklin Youth, Malcolm Lewis (Anglian Dances)
  • Best Instrumentalist: Alex Warner, solo cornet
  • Best Hymn Tune, Conductor’s Prize & Highest Placed scaba Member Band – Shanklin Youth

Band of the Year

scaba Band of the Year

Awarded to LGB Brass

Leave a Reply