2014 Spring Contest Results

Home / Contest Results / 2014 Spring Contest Results
2014 Spring Contest Results

The annual Spring Contest was held today at the Hawth Theatre in Crawley.

Congratulations to the prize winners and thanks to Adjudicator Paul Cosh, the scaba team and all competing bands for an enjoyable day of music making.

First Section

First Section

  1. Tilbury Band
  2. Horsham Borough Band
  3. Fairlop Brass
  • Hymn Tune: Fairlop
  • March: Tilbury
  • Best Horn Section: Tilbury
  • Best Bass Section: Tilbury
  • Best Tenor Trombone: Greg White, Tilbury
  • Best Bass Trombone: Barry Chaplin, Tilbury
  • Conductor’s Prize: Andrew Austin, Tilbury
Second Section

Second Section

  1. Cranbrook Town Band, Ian Lanceley
  2. Uckfield Concert Brass, Nick Morris
  3. Godalming Band, James Haigh
  4. Shanklin Town, Malcolm Lewis
  • Hymn Tune: Uckfield
  • March: Cranbrook
  • Best Instrumentalist: David Newsom, Euphonium, Cranbrook
  • Best Trombone Section: Uckfield
  • Conductor’s Prize: Ian Lanceley, Cranbrook
Third Section

Third Section

  1. Brighton & Hove City Brass, Matthew Hackett
  2. Pangbourne & District Silver, Stewart Lewins
  3. Patcham Silver, James Benka-Coker
  4. Cobham Band, Glen Hayter
  • Hymn Tune: Brighton & Hove
  • March: Pangbourne
  • Best Instrumentalist: Richard Powell, Cornet, Pangbourne
  • Best Horn Section: Brighton & Hove
  • Best Solo Cornet Section: Patcham
  • Conductor’s Prize: Matthew Hackett, Brighton & Hove
Youth Section

Youth Section

  1. Shanklin Town Youth, Malcolm Lewis
  2. Patcham Silver Youth, Sandra Clinton
  • Hymn Tune: Shanklin
  • March: Shanklin
  • Best Instrumentalist: Alex Warner, Cornet, Shanklin
  • Conductor’s Prize: Malcolm Lewis, Shanklin