The local association for Brass Bands in the Southern Counties of England

The 2017 Autumn Contest was held on 24th September at The Hawth in Crawley.
Many thanks to adjudicator Dr David Lancaster, the scaba team, Hawth staff and of course the competing bands for a smooth-running, enjoyable day of music making.
Full Result:
Third Section
1. Godalming, James Haigh
w  Simon Langton Brass, David Cutting
w  Cobham, Glenn Hayter
Best Conductor – James Haigh
Best Hymn Tune, Best Instrumentalist Nathan John (Trombone), Best Back Row Cornets, Best Percussion – Godalming
Youth Section
w  Shepway Brass Academy
Second Section
1. Poole Borough, Martin Portman
2. LGB Brass, Ian Stewart
3. Epping Forest, Keith Schroeter
4. Yiewsley & West Drayton, Chris Cole
5. Godalming, James Haigh
6. Hangleton, Richard Baker
Best Hymn Tune – LGB Brass
Best Instrumentalist – Dick Baczala (cornet), Poole Borough
Best Horn Section – Epping Forest
Best Solo Horn – Michael Kenyon – Poole Borough
Best Percussion – Godalming
Best Conductor – Martin Portman – Poole Borough
First Section
1. Sandhurst Silver, Andrew Porter
2. Horsham Borough, Mark McLauchlin
3. BAE Systems, Melvin White
4. Brassband Euterpe Merchtem, Roland van Buggenhout
5. Epsom & Ewell, Paul Graham
6. Alder Valley Brass, Lee Woodward
7. Egham, Gareth Green
Best Hymn Tune – Brassband Euterpe
Best Instrumentalist – Steve Burgess (cornet), Alder Valley
Best Euphonium – Brian le Tissier, Sandhurst
Best Bass Section – Egham
Best Conductor – Andrew Porter, Sandhurst
Highest Placed scaba Member Band – Horsham Borough
Championship Section
1. Friary Guildford, Chris King
2. Thundersley, Nigel Taken
3. Fulham, John Ward
Best Hymn Tune – Friary Guildford
Best Instrumentalist – Simon Tong (Soprano), Friary Guildford
Best Percussion – Friary Guildford
Best Euphonium – Hannah Morton, Thundersley
Best Bass Section – Friary Guildford
Best Conductor – Chris King, Friary Guildford