The local association for Brass Bands in the Southern Counties of England

Currently in the 2nd Section, MK Brass seek a Musical Director to work with the band
to regain their place in the 1st Section whilst maintaining a friendly atmosphere.

Regular rehearsals take place on Tuesday evenings
in Loughton, Milton Keynes, MK5 8FA.

To find out details of the application process please email as soon as possible. The band aims to have completed applications by Wednesday 15 March.

The Southern Counties Youth Band (SCYB) is returning to St Catherine’s School in Bramely for its third residential course from 10th – 13th April.
This year’s course will be led by the renowned percussionist, composer and band trainer Paul Lovatt-Cooper, supported by our regular team of tutors.
You can find out more about Paul at his website
The Residential Course fee is £110 per student. This includes 3 night’s accommodation, all tuition and use of the excellent facilities provided at the school.
This low cost is made possible by financial support from scaba and the generosity of the SCYB tutors who give their time free of charge.
The course will end with a free concert on Thursday 13th April.
All players aged 11-18 are welcome – you can join SCYB even if your band isn’t a member of scaba.
For more info please contact
Closing date for applications 26th March

With the Regional qualifying contests of the National Championships of GB fast approaching, we’ve had a number of queries about rules and timelines affecting registration of new players.
All players competing in the London & Southern Counties Regional contest in Stevenage must be registered with the Brass Band Players Registry (BBP) by Friday 10th March; the last registration date for bands in the West of England is Friday 3rd March.
Please remember that players may NOT be registered with more than one band (this includes registration with different bands under the BBP and scaba Registries), and each player can only compete in one regional contest in one year.
The relevant rules are outlined below for your information:
National Championships of GB Rules:
9 a) All players taking part in the Contest must be registered with only ONE accredited Registry at least 7 days before the Friday of the contest weekend and may only compete with the band that holds their Registration.
9 b) A player may play with only ONE band in any ONE series of Regional Championships
BBP Registry Rules:
4 Each player who is a contesting member of a band must be registered and hold a valid registration card.
5 No player shall be registered with more than one band at any one time.
scaba Rules:
1.2 scaba registry is open only to member bands and players who do not belong to an accredited National Registry.
4.1 Any player may only be registered with one band and one registry, and may only compete with one band except as qualified in Rule 2.2 and 2.5 – Youth Bands) and under the Day Transfer Rules.
5.4 The band registering any player, either annually or additionally, is responsible for ensuring that the player is not also registered with any other band under either the scaba Registry or any Accredited National Registry. Failure to check, and if necessary effect a proper transfer, may result in disqualification at subsequent contests.

Lewes Glynde and Beddingham Brass Band is a lively, friendly, social band based in Lewes, East Sussex.

LGB plays a variety of concerts including Eastbourne Bandstand 1812 concerts, Fetes and Fairs, AMEX stadium, Proms in the Paddock, Lewes Bonfire Night, High Sherriff Fanfares and Christmas concerts.
They also contest locally and nationally. 2016 was a bumper year for the band, winning or highly placed in: scaba Spring, Entertainment and Autumn contests; success at the Solo and Duets and a range of Best Soloist and Section awards across the year.
LGB Brass was awarded the prestigious “scaba Band of the Year” title for 2016.

The band is looking to recruit cornet players to keep their back row buoyant; if you’re interested, please get in touch by email to
Instrument, music and uniform all provided.

For more information about the band, see the band’s Website and @LGBbrass on Twitter.

Around 80 bands braved snowy roads, storms and flood warnings to converge on Skegness in Lincolnshire last weekend to blow away the holiday cobwebs and kick-start their contesting year at the Butlin’s Mineworkers championships.

The weekend features test-piece contests for all sections on the Saturday followed by entertainment in the on-site pubs and clubs ranging from the Bavarian Stompers to the Syd Lawrence Orchestra; then the championship section Entertainment Contest on Sunday. In addition to the competing bands, hundreds of players and supporters from around the country make the trip for what is arguably the most fun and social event in the banding calendar.

The South East and scaba were well represented, and huge congratulations go to the newly crowned 4th section Champions Crystal Palace, and to Friary Guildford for their fourth place overall and winning ‘Most Entertaining’ band in the invitation-only Championship section for the 2nd time in 3 years.

We look forward to hearing both bands on the same winning form at local events in 2017!