2017 Entertainment Contest Results

Home / Contest Results / 2017 Entertainment Contest Results
2017 Entertainment Contest Results

scaba’s annual Entertainment contest took place at The Hawth today, with bands playing a great selection of music to an appreciative audience of their peers and adjudicators Glyn and Helen Williams on their first visit to a scaba event.

Glyn and Helen had a total of 100 points available to award each performance, with Glyn judging the bands’ Musical Performance (max. 60 marks) and Helen casting her expert eye over their Content/Entertainment Value (max. 30 marks) and Presentation & Deportment (max. 10)

'A' Section

‘A’ Section

(1st & Championship section)

  1. Otterbourne Brass, Melvin White. 91 points (56, 27, 8)**
  2. Bedford Town, Steve Philips. 91 points (54, 28, 9)**
  3. Sandhurst Silver, Andrew Porter. 86 points (51, 26, 9)
  4. Tilbury, Ben Jones. 80 points (47, 26, 7)

W – Horsham Borough

  • Best Soloist: Nick West, Trombone, Otterbourne
  • Best Performed March: Otterbourne
  • Best Conductor: Melvin White, Otterbourne
  • Highest unplaced 1st Section band: Tilbury
  • Highest placed scaba member band: Otterbourne

**In the event of bands being awarded the same total points, the mark for Music is the tie-breaker

The Best Conductor in the A section was awarded a new trophy, the Kenneth Dennison Memorial Cup, donated by Andy Wooler in memory of former scaba President Ken Dennison who died last October.

'B' Section

‘B’ Section

(Youth, 3rd & 2nd Section)

  1. Amersham, Paul Fisher. 92 points (54, 30, 10 – 2 time penalties)*
  2. LGB Brass, Ian Stewart. 88 points (52, 27, 9)
  3. Crystal Palace, Danny Wakefield. 78 points (44, 25,9)
  4. St Sebastian Wokingham, Nigel Howard. 76 points (48, 21, 7)**
  5. Brighton & Hove City Brass, Matthew Hackett. 76 points (46, 23, 7)**
  6. Chichester City, Rom Stanko. 72 points (42, 22, 8)

A – Hangleton Youth – played for adjudication only

  • Best Soloist: Jon Smith, Euphonium, LGB Brass
  •  Best Trombone Section: LGB Brass
  •  Best Compere/Conductor: Nigel Howard, St Sebastian Wokingham

*Bands exceeding the 24 minute time limited were penalised -1 point for each 30 seconds (or part thereof) over time. **In the event of bands being awarded the same total points, the mark for Music is the tie-breaker

Long Service Awards
During the B Section results ceremony, a special presentation was made to Colin and Sybil Morrison, stalwarts of the scaba Executive Committee and the London & Southern Counties regional teams, honouring 50 years of service to brass banding.

Thank you to Glyn and Helen, to all the competitors who worked so hard and performed so well, and to the scaba and Hawth teams for a very enjoyable day; we look forward to seeing you again at our Autumn contest in September!

Leave a Reply